Self-determination in Kosovo, South Ossetia and Abhkazia


Self-determination is the principle in international law that nations have the right to freely choose their sovereignty and international political status with no external compulsion or external interference. The outcome can be independence, federation, protection, some form of autonomy or even full assimilation.
In 2008 three self-declared states have emerged on the stage of international politics. Kosovo, South Ossetia and Abkhazia declared independence partly in line with international documents on the right of self-determination. The independence of these countries has been recognized by only a limited number of UN member countries culminating a divided international acceptance. Their territories remain the subject of dispute between their former federal government and the governments of the independent de facto states.